UCSF home page UCSF home page About UCSF UCSF Medical Center
UCSF navigation bar

News & Highlights

  • Dr. Rene Salazar to Be Assistant Dean of Diversity in the School of Medicine The University of Texas at Austin

    Rene Salazar, MD has accepted a job as the Assistant Dean of Diversity in the School of Medicine at the Dell Medical School/The University of Texas at Austin.

    Dr. Salazar graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a B.S in Pharmacy in 1993 and obtained his MD from the University of Texas in San Antonio in 1999 before coming to UCSF as a resident in internal medicine. He then completed a Fellowship in Health Disparities before joining the DGIM faculty as an HS Assistant Professor of Medicine in 2003.

    He has led the Department’s efforts to promote diversity in residency training and his creative scholarship has focused on health care disparities in Latino and Asian populations. Over the past few years, Rene has worked closely with the UCSF Office of Diversity and Outreach to conduct numerous workshops on unconscious bias that have profoundly shaped the campus-wide approach to this important topic.

  • Dr. Jane Jih Featured on Inside NIA Blog

    Jane Jih, MD, was interviewed for a recent post on the National Institute on Aging's Inside NIA blog. In the interview, Jane is asked about her experience with the Butler-Williams Scholars Program. The interview and information about applying to this year's Butler-Williams Scholars Program can be found at the link below. The deadline to apply for the program is March 25.


  • Dr. Stephen McPhee to Receive AAHPM National Leadership Award

    In recognition for his achievements and profound influence in the field of palliative medicine, Steve McPhee, MD, will receive the American Academy of Hospital and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM) National Leadership Award during the 2016 AAHPM & Hospice & Palliative Nurses Association (HPNA) Annual Assembly to be held in Chicago, Illinois in March.

    More information about the AAHPM & HPNA Annual Assembly is available
    at the AAHPM website.

Residency Spotlight

The application deadline for the 2017-18 academic year for the SFGH and UC Primary Care Internal Medicine programs is November 15, 2016.

Please refer to each program's section for details and contact information.


Diversity Town Hall Meeting
Beth Harleman, MD
Gina Moreno-John, MD, MPH
Rene Salazar, MD
12pm - 1pm | 1545 Divisadero Street, Suite 523 + Add to calendar
Ellen Hughes Lecture on Clinician Well-Being
Walking Close to the Fire Without Getting Burned
Ira Byock, MD
Professor of Medicine and Community & Family Medicine
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
12pm - 1pm | 1545 Divisadero Street, Suite 523 + Add to calendar